He Kept The Faith

Continue to have faith and do what you know is right. Some people have rejected this, and their faith has been shipwrecked. – 1 Timothy 1:19

I sit a few feet from a man on death row. Jewish by birth, tent maker by trade. Apostle by calling. His days are marked. I am curious about what bolsters this man as he nears his execution. So I ask some questions.

Do you have a family, Paul? “I have none.”
What about your health? “My body is beaten and tired.”
Any awards? “Not on earth.”

Then what do you have, Paul? No belongings, no family . . . What do you have that matters? ” I have my faith. It’s all I have. But it is all I need. I have kept the faith.” Paul leans back against the wall of his cell and smiles.

From the Devotional book: “Grace for the Moment”
Page 400
Author: Max Lucado
Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN 978-1-4041-1374-9

About Wayne Comer

I’m Wayne Comer, an independent contract software engineer and computer software consultant. I am a christian and attend church at Third Baptist Church in Murfreesboro, TN, also known as 3BC. I’m married to Kathleen since 1992 and I have 1 grown and married daughter, Shay. I have lived in Murfreesboro, TN most of my life and when time permits I love to bike, canoe, hike, and go camping with my wife. Golf and Baseball are my 2 favorite sports... well, besides fishing.
This entry was posted in Devotional, Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

