Loved the wedding! Invite me to the marriage. – God

I took my title today from the book, “GodSpeaks Devotional”, ISBN 1-56292-857-0.

This past Staurday my wife and I attended a christian wedding. We sung christian hymns and fellowshiped together as a man and a woman were brought together as one. It painted the perfect picture of the bride of Christ. The wedding was great and very exciting, however now that the wedding excitement has past, what about the marriage?

It is obvious to me that God intended a relationship between a man and a woman to be so, because how else could children be brought into this world. Genesis 2:24 says this, “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh.”

We all need a good foundation in our marriage and God provides that solid ground. Without it pride and selfishness begin to set in and crack our foundation, ultimately destroying the institution of marriage designed by God, not man.

God provides perfect instruction in 1 Corinthians 13. Here we learn the meaning of faith, hope, and love. We are also told the greatest of these is love. So love God first, then your wife and everthing else will fall into place. That does not mean the path along the way will always be smooth, infact I am pretty sure God uses those bumps to refine our character as we mature as husband and wife, as one with God.

If you ever get stuck on a wedding gift, you can always choose the wisdom of God. It is always prefect.

About Wayne Comer

I’m Wayne Comer, an independent contract software engineer and computer software consultant. I am a christian and attend church at Third Baptist Church in Murfreesboro, TN, also known as 3BC. I’m married to Kathleen since 1992 and I have 1 grown and married daughter, Shay. I have lived in Murfreesboro, TN most of my life and when time permits I love to bike, canoe, hike, and go camping with my wife. Golf and Baseball are my 2 favorite sports... well, besides fishing.
This entry was posted in Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

