Harmful Attitudes That Spoil Relationships in a Worship Team

I love being part of the worship team at 3BC. The other day our worship pastor read an article and then e-mailed the entire worship team the following message:

The subject was: Building Community in our Worship Team

“I love the fellowship and relationships we have in our worship team! I can honestly say that the dynamics within our group are great, and all of us desire to work together to lead worship at 3BC. There is a sweet spirit of cooperation and unity, and I love hearing all of you fellowship and talk before, during and after Wednesday rehearsal.

http://worshipleader.com/harmful-attitudes/

I read this article yesterday and it addresses 4 things that harm unity within the worship team. While I don’t see evidence of any of this within our group, I am aware that we are musicians. The personality and make up of musicians walks a thin line between humility and cockiness – after all, as those who present (or perform) musical pieces, we have to carry a certain amount of confidence, as well as the character trait that allows us to have enough confidence to stand in front of people to expose (or highlight) our gifts and strengths. Sometimes, musicians can get priorities out of order. After all, it has been said that when the Devil fell, “he landed right in the choir loft.” (I personally resent when people say that, but, hey, it works for my argument here!!)

Anyway…read the article above. The pastor is preaching on community in the Church this Sunday, and the article gives 4 attitudes that can be harmful to the community of a worship team. These are things to avoid.

I’m looking forward to Sunday’s worship! See you there.

Your worship pastor”

About Wayne Comer

I’m Wayne Comer, an independent contract software engineer and computer software consultant. I am a christian and attend church at Third Baptist Church in Murfreesboro, TN, also known as 3BC. I’m married to Kathleen since 1992 and I have 1 grown and married daughter, Shay. I have lived in Murfreesboro, TN most of my life and when time permits I love to bike, canoe, hike, and go camping with my wife. Golf and Baseball are my 2 favorite sports... well, besides fishing.
This entry was posted in Faith, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

